Medical Research Committee

Blue Faery: The Adrienne Wilson Liver Cancer Association



Medical Research Committee

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Dr. Ghassan K. Abou-Alfa, Blue Faery Award winner 2018
DSC_9459Dr. Ghassan K. Abou-Alfa is an associate professor of the Gastrointestinal Oncology Service at Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center and Weill Cornell Medical College in New York. Dr. Abou-Alfa specializes in the treatment of gastrointestinal malignancies and in particular, Hepatocellular Carcinoma and biliary cancers. Dr. Abou-Alfa received his medical degree from the American University of Beirut, Lebanon, and completed his post-doctoral training at Yale University School of Medicine.

His research is dedicated to finding novel therapies and improving the effectiveness of current therapies for Hepatocellular Carcinoma and biliary cancers, while continuing to understand the basic mechanisms of the diseases and their therapies. Dr Abou-Alfa has many publications in the field. He has led international teams of investigators and published the first report on the effective role of the novel agent sorafenib in the treatment of primary liver cancer and the role of adding doxorubicin to sorafenib. One of Dr. Abou-Alfa key interests is developing therapeutic strategies that help overcome resistance to sorafenib.

Dr. Abou-Alfa serves as the chair of the National Cancer Institute (NCI) Task Force for Hepatobiliary Cancers and the chair of the AIDS Malignancy Consortium (AMC) Non-AIDS Defining Malignancies (NADC) Liver/GI Task Force. Dr Abou-Alfa also chairs the Hepatocellular Carcinoma subgroup of the Alliance cooperative group and is a cadre member of both the gastrointestinal cancers and pharmacogenomics and population pharmacology committees. Dr Abou-Alfa, who has lectured worldwide on the subject of gastrointestinal malignancies, is also a strong advocate for raising awareness and support for improving the outcome of patients with this disease as well as enhancing oncologic education worldwide.


Medical Research Committee—Advisory Board



Steven A. Curley, M.D.
CHRISTUS Mother Frances Hospital


Marty Sellers, M.D.


Mark A. Feitelson, Ph.D.
Temple University
Blue Faery Award Winner 2013

Kabir Mody

Kabir Mody, M.D.
Mayo Clinic


Douglas L. Senecal, PA-C, MPAS
Blue Earth Diagnostics
Blue Faery MRC Chair 2010 – 2015


Snorri S. Thorgeirsson, M.D., Ph.D
National Cancer Institute
Blue Faery Award winner 2009